Cool Runnings

Because in my head I'm Usain Bolt, in my legs I'm a chubby white girl.

Day 77 and 79: Double Whammy Blog Action.

on March 19, 2014

Miles: 7.5 and 9.26

Time: 1 Hr 27 Mins and 1 Hour 51 Mins

So, a lot of you know I have really been struggling this week with starting running again post-car accident (whiplash getting better but gets achey around the 6 mile mark). The last run I had I nearly cried on Egham High Street because I quite honestly felt like giving up.

Usually when I’m having a tough time I ring my Mummy; she’s mental, but good in a crisis. Except she and Dad had gone to Rome to watch the Rugby (selfish). So I spoke to the holy goddess of running marathons – Dr Dr Jasmin Islam. She said to forget about distances, times and the stresses of all my targets I had missed.

So that’s what I did. On Monday I went for just under 8 miles and I felt so much better. Obviously it ached a little, but it felt so much better again. I probably could have gone a bit longer, but I thought I needed that one run that I enjoyed again, so I stopped. And today, the same thing happened. I ran down through Saville Garden and round to Staines. And then. I ran up TIte Hill and owned it. I think I’m back on form!!! I’m hoping to do 13 miles on Sunday and be back to where I was before the accident, although I know I won’t get up to 20 miles before the race, I think all the wonderful people cheering me on will keep me going. 

And all of those lovely sponsorships I’m still yet to receive…..


Leave a comment