Cool Runnings

Because in my head I'm Usain Bolt, in my legs I'm a chubby white girl.

Two Days To Go: Injuries. Injuries. Injuries.

on April 3, 2014

Good evening! After a very busy and eventful few weeks I realised it was time to break the radio silence! I’m sure you have all been biting your nails in anticipation of a marathon training update!

So! Last week I tried running and had my knee injury. Luckily, the wonderful Lesley came to have a look at it (while getting harassed and sniffed by all dogs of the Smith Household). No serious damage but rest, ice etc required. So naturally I went on a run two days later and it hurt again (Why didn’t I listen?). So then I decided not to run at all until I came back from Birmingham.

Birmingham is a gloomy place! It’s weird to get a vibe from a city, but it’s the same I had when I was in Nottingham – not sure I am keen for life in the Midlands. But luckily, the interviews were so stressful I doubt I will be going up there anyway!

“What’s the difference between a funghi and a parasite?” – Ummm, one tastes good on a pizza? [1]

There is also something seriously wrong with the roads in Birmingham and I’m convinced this is why I found myself driving the wrong way down a one-way system on a dual carriageway getting beeped at in a pink dress like Scientist Barbie.

Anyway! I got back to Hedge End yesterday and went on the nerve-racking test decision-making run. I knew if it went badly and I was still having knee problems that I might have to defer my marathon entry. So I took my suitcase upstairs, got into my running gear…..and had a swift nap. Oops. 

So I set off on the run around the village. The pain in my knee came back within about 10 minutes but it seems if I walk for a little bit it goes away again. It’s not completely unbearable but the new plan is to run/walk on Sunday.

Image

That’s ice on my knee. I’m not trying to set a new fashion trend of tea-towel leggings. That would be weird. Also, check out my new PLANETS running vest which (a) is a size small and (b) should remind some of you that I’m still after donations!!!

On a positive note, I don’t get out of breath when running anymore so that’s not a problem I should have to worry about. It’s just going to be a case of stopping and walking quite often to prevent knee problems. I think I will use some sort of run for 10 minutes walk for 1 minute policy but it will just depend how it goes on the day.

I’ve gone from wanting to finish in about 5 hours, to now thinking “just get me through that finish line”. I think now I’m looking at between 6 and 6.5 hours. So if you are coming on the day, it’s going to be a long one! 

So, some of you might be thinking, at least her Dad is doing well! Alas, he is not:

Image

He has had a fever, cold and cough that resembles a severely pissed-off Elephant for the last few days. 

We are in great shape for Sunday…..

Although originally I was worried about my knee and how much longer it would take, how painful it will be and that people in the crowds may mock my walking (a couple of people in particular….), I realised that actually, I don’t care. The wise words of Sarah’s mum – “it doesn’t matter how long it takes or how far you get, you’ve raised a lot of money for charity” – are all that matters really. And that was the whole point of the marathon (alongside picking on my Dad of course). And now, if anyone says anything about me walking, or if I see those familiar faces in Brighton who quite frankly can go to hell, I will just smile, keep on moving and show them what not giving up looks like.

Those coming on Sunday – our friendships may reach new levels as you see me cry/vomit/hobble to the finish line. Children not advised – there might be swearing.

[1] Reference – comedy antics of Dr Dr Consultant James Price


Leave a comment