Cool Runnings

Because in my head I'm Usain Bolt, in my legs I'm a chubby white girl.

Day 85. Another Run Another Injury

on March 24, 2014

Miles: 5.07

Time: 58 Mins

I’m back in Southampton!! I’m very pleased to be back, it’s nice to have new routes for running. I ran a quick 25 minute run yesterday and wanted to do a 13-miler today to get back on track. I decided I would run to and from Sarah and Hugh’s house and pretend I was going to visit them (get back from Canada soooooooon). 

I started off very well and was really enjoying it (despite getting hurled abuse from the men at the car wash). It’s a nice route all through Curdridge and Burridge with the big houses and country lanes. It was even quite a sunny day! However, with the sun, comes my mortal enemy. That’s right. The bees are out. Some of you might think they are all lovely bumbling about in the flowers. But I know their secret. They are deadly viscious creatures. They know I hate them too, and that’s why they never leave me alone. So I looked pretty spectacular flapping my arms around trying to avoid them whilst running down the lane.

I was heading up through Swanwick when I then started to get a little pain in my right knee. I stopped to stretch it out but that made no difference. Then it started to hurt a lot more, feeling a bit like my knee was twisting as I was running and a pressure-like pain was building. I decided to walk for a few minutes. However, then when I started up again the pain was unbearable. I tried twice more, which in hindsight was a stupid thing to do. So I stopped outside our favourite pub and called my Dad to come and pick me up. Now I’m sat with a knee support on wondering whether or not this marathon is really going to happen. Are there some sort of evil marathon gods I don’t know about that needed a sacrifice? Because I seem to have displeased them…..

Things I’m trying to remember to make myself feel better:

1. Laura’s partner ran the marathon and the most he did was 13 miles (ignore the fact he is far more athletic….)

2. Jedward did the marathon without training.

3. People cheering me on will somehow solve all these problems.

4. Where did I put that Easter Egg earlier….


Leave a comment