Cool Runnings

Because in my head I'm Usain Bolt, in my legs I'm a chubby white girl.

Day 53. The Run that got me a Phone Number**

on February 23, 2014

Miles: 13.2

Time: 2 Hours 42 Mins

I’m over halfway!! After last weekend’s shocking efforts this weekend was so much better! I ran down through Egham to Staines, and back around Englefield Green. I’m starting to feel quite an irrational hatred towards Tite Hill. I start running up it, which is horrendous, but it levels off. But then, just as you turn the corner, you realise the hill isn’t finished, and that actually, it has only just begun. It’s torture.

So anyway! I was a little nervous about getting tired again, so I popped to the SweatShop to get some supplies – running jelly beans and an energy bar. I came home, ate the energy bar and thought, I’ll just have a cuddle with this little fella before I go:

Image

 

Two hours later when I woke up from my nap (yep, the energy bar was useless), I set off. I’m always really slow for the first mile of the run because it’s difficult to know how to pace myself for a long run. 

So, I’m running down past Burger King (smelled amazing) and I’m waiting to cross the road, when a white van pulls up. There is a man in the passenger seat who started smiling at me. I smiled back, because obviously, I’m a smiley happy person. Plus he was beautiful.

However, the next minute, he hops out of the van, gives me his number, winks, gets back in the van and drives off. Not exactly sure where he expected me to store it….

So, the rest of the run. As usual, I had to pee, so a pit stop was necessary in Costa Coffee. I didn’t realise that training for a marathon also meant training your bladder. I got home and then my legs decided that actually, they didn’t really fancy working anymore. So naturally, I put on my onesie and watched TV. Rock and roll.

**events described in this blog may be fictional and loosely based on true story. Yeah that’s right, he didn’t get out the van. But it made you read the blog didn’t it? Now get on this website and sponsor me you gossip-hungry buggers:

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=therunninghobbits&isTeam=true

 

 


Leave a comment