Cool Runnings

Because in my head I'm Usain Bolt, in my legs I'm a chubby white girl.

Day 60. The First Missed Run.

on March 2, 2014

Time: 0 Mins

Miles: 0

Since starting training for the marathon I have occasionally day-dreamed (or day-nightmared) about what would happen if I broke my leg during training (bearing in mind my high level of clumsiness). It is worrying because then I wouldn’t be able to do the marathon and all the training and sponsorships would be for nothing! (Don’t panic – this has not happened…)

So, I swapped my run from Saturday to Sunday this weekend so that I could have lunch with the lovely work ladies in Basingstoke! The lunch was amazing, home-made scones, cheese, chocolate – everything you need in a good lunch buffet! We took a long stroll down to the town to buy lottery tickets and imagine how we were going to spend the money when we inevitably won (we didn’t).

We watched TV then I headed back with a friend in the car to drop off at the station before heading home. Pulled up at the roundabout, stopped, and got smacked in the back by the car behind. She either didn’t see my brake lights from 200m behind or she wasn’t paying attention. Either way, she clouted us onto the roundabout. Poor Vienna:

Image

Now, a lot of you are probably thinking “Karen the Bimbo did something stupid” and usually I would agree, of course, I am a moron. But this was genuinely not my fault and the more I think about it the more angry I become!! There is no way she could not have seen my lights and after consulting with my professional car expert (Tom the Man with the Van and a Plan – new nickname, he is helping me move), she must have hit me with some considerable amount of force and speed.

So, Vienna. It’s highly likely that she is going to car heaven. I am incredibly gutted, because she is a beautiful little reliable car. She moved me from Brighton to Surrey when things were not so pretty in my life!! She takes me everywhere. She is red and glorious and she listens to my terrible singing. But now, her boot won’t shut, the bumper is nearly falling off and the metal work is shredded.

My friend is the car was fine, very luckily! She was also AMAZING after we crashed because I, of course, went into the usual Karen-style coping mechanism of not coping and crying my eyes out. I’m also very pleased that Darwin wasn’t in the boot at the time.

However, I now have whiplash and a sore neck, back and shoulder, therefore, I have not run. I had planned to do 15 miles today (my Dad did – he is faster than me too, moron). And now I’m probably not going to run for a little while.

But I am still doing the marathon, obviously. Slightly concerned about missing training, when my brother sent me the training plan he said “never miss the long runs”. However, all I care about now is crossing the finish line, no matter how long it might take me! 

So, I know my lack of running means a limited blog, but if you still want to sponsor me to cheer me up after my poor little car’s early retirement, then here is the link:

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=therunninghobbits&isTeam=true

 

 


Leave a comment